Rules and regulations for Texas child care facilities.
Each state has various rules and regulations on daycare & child care centers. In this post, we’ll look at the requirements of daycare facilities in Texas.
1. Easy Access to Information
Stringent licensing rules require daycare facilities to respect and adhere to regulations put forward by the state. For example, the following items need to be posted at the facility at all times:
- The childcare center’s license.
- Emergency relocation and evacuation plans.
- A letter or form from the most recent licensing inspection or investigation.
- A list containing current employees of the center.
- Daily menu of all the meals and snacks served by the child-care center.
- Licensing notice of availability of review of the most common inspections such as fire, sanitation, gas, and licensing minimum standards.
2. Operational Policies
Daycare centers generally need standards and policies regarding:
- Hours, days and months of operation.
- Procedures for release of children.
- Illness and exclusion criteria.
- Immunization requirements.
- Procedures for notifying parents.
- Discipline and guidance practices.
- Meals and food services practices.
2. Worker Qualifications
The state also has worker qualifications for all individuals who would like to work in or operate day care facilities. For example, all staff must be above 18 years of age and have a high school diploma or equivalent. Other requirements include certification in CPR and first aid as well as optional hours of training in the center before starting work. Background checks on all employees are also required.
3. Provider/Child Ratio
Children usually require a lot of individualized attention. Because of this, daycare centers in Texas need to adhere to a strict provider/child ratio.
Here’s a table that lays out the mandated ratios:
|Age Range||Child: Staff Ratio||Maximum Group Size|
|0 – 11 months||4:1||10|
|12 – 17 months||5:1||13|
|18 – 23 months||9:1||18|
|2 years (24 months)||11:1||22|
|9 – 12 years||26:1||35|
If you believe that these requirements were not in place at your child’s daycare facility, and your child has been injured, call the lawyers at Rasansky Law Firm toll-free at 1-877-403-9378.
If you’d like more information on other requirements regarding daycare centers, please check out http://www.dfps.state.tx.us/Child_Care/Child_Care_Standards_and_Regulations/