Georgia Daycare Abuse Lawyer

Daycare Abuse Lawyer in Georgia

Daycare abuse is a serious problem in Atlanta, Columbus, Augusta, and across the State of Georgia. Parents and guardians must always be on the lookout for incidents of abuse and neglect at their child’s day care facility.

Child abuse and neglect occur way too often in both homes and daycare centers in Georgia, and across the nation. Agencies responsible for receiving information on child abuse and neglect receive in excess of 6.2 million reports every year. Children who are victims of abuse and neglect may suffer consequences that can last for years, or even the rest of their life. Through a daycare abuse lawsuit, your family may be able to recover compensation from the daycare facility to pay for things such as therapy and counseling, alternative child care, and more. For a free consultation, call Rasansky Law Firm at 1-877-403-9378.

Effects of Child Abuse and Neglect

Not every abused and neglected child experiences the same effects. Although children can suffer severe and long-lasting effects as a result of abuse and/or neglect, they can overcome those effects and eventually have a childhood that is both healthy and productive. One of the most important things a parent can do after such an event is to guide children through the recovery process.

As stated above, not every abused or neglected child experiences the same effects. Some of the possible mental health issues a child might suffer because of abuse and neglect include the following:

  • Anxiety
  • Depression
  • Dissociation
  • Problems with concentration
  • Learning difficulties for children of school age
  • Lack of ability connecting with others
  • Flashbacks
  • Increase in hypervigilance
  • Sleeping problems

Georgia Daycare Abuse Incidents

Sadly, incidents of daycare abuse in Georgia are not unheard of. On March 5, 2013, WRDW reported a daycare worker in Georgia was jailed because of an abuse incident that had occurred two years prior. The woman was charged with cruelty to a child after a video captured her hitting a 3-year-old child with a plastic object as she yelled at the child and violently grabbed the child by both arms and forced him to sit on a toilet seat while he still has clothes on.

An eight-week-old child in a licensed Georgia child care setting was found in a pool of blood on his second day in child care. The Augusta Chronicle reported on October 2, 2011, that reports from the Department of Early Care and Learning show the agency revokes licenses of child care providers in fewer cases than the majority of surrounding states. Apparently criminal punishment for daycare abuse in the State of Georgia is more likely to result in fines instead of other, more severe sanctions.

Over the previous five years, the State of Georgia issued 497 severe penalties for incidents that occurred in 436 child care programs out of a total of 6,686 total licensed providers. Some of the incidents include:

  • The release of the wrong child to a blind grandfather.
  • The boyfriend of a child care provider kidnapped two children while they were in her care.
  • At least 50 incidents of children wandering away from day care centers.

One incident involved a 7-year-old boy who went over the fence from a Georgia day care to try to find his home that was more than two miles away. The state fined the owners a mere $299 for the incident, the lesser of two possible fines. In nearly 90 percent of cases, fines were the only criminal punishment. Unfortunately, the state rarely puts any restrictions on licenses in cases that involve daycare abuse or neglect in Georgia. During this five year period, the state of Georgia only revoked 44 licenses due to documented cases of child abuse and/or neglect.

If your child has been the victim of daycare abuse or neglect in Georgia, it is important to hire a good child abuse lawyer. An attorney is in the best position to help you obtain the compensation that your child truly deserves after such a horrible event. Call us today for a free consultation at 1-877-403-9378.

Posted in Legal Help
One comment on “Georgia Daycare Abuse Lawyer
  1. Catt says:

    In the state of Georgia what should a parent do if their child was abused at the daycare center by a teacher and the child came home and told the parent. The parent made the owner and the director aware of the abuse and neither of them reported the allegations. The owner and the director didn’t let the other parents know that there had been abuse allegations at their center. What law did they break and what charges can we take them to court for?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


+ 9 = eighteen

CALL NOW! 877-403-9378

Contact Us Today for a


Tell us your story using the form below for your free, no obligation case review.